The Best Twist Out Ever!

Since I have been fully natural I have had several failed attempts at a nice twist out.  I’ve tried flat twists first.  The definition that I wanted was not picstitch main photothere and my hair wouldn’t lay nicely.  I tried single twists, same thing.  It was super frustrating!  Why didn’t my hair look like the ones I see on the internet?  I am sure we have all felt like this when attempting styles that we’ve seen either on a blog or on social media sites like pinterest, instagram or YouTube. But I finally did it!   Here is what I learned to help me achieve these lovely tendrils:

1.  Omit the water!  It causes shrinkage and styles like these work best on slightly stretched hair.  I wouldn’t blow dry my hair because that would over do it.  Your curls won’t be as tight nor will the style last as long.

2.  No heat stretched hair gives better results.  If you have been wearing a protective style, it is easier to transition from their into a twist out or bantu knot out because your hair is already slightly stretched from the previous style.

3.  Make sure to thoroughly detangle your hair before styling.  Helps with the stretching of your hair.  Detangle by the immediate section you will be working with (i.e, the twist section).

4.  Heavy oils work best on twists for my hair.  Gives me some hang time with the twist.

5.  Time = better definition.  I need to leave my twists in for longer than 8 hours to give them time to really settle in to the style before unraveling.

OK, so let’s cut to the chase.  You want this too?  Here is what you’ll need:

Bonner Brother’s Castor Oil Lotion, Motions Define My Curl Cream, and Urban Nature’s Oil Infused Shea Butter for your hair.

Also a rat tail comb and at least 3 clips or hair bands.

product pic

On dry slightly stretched hair, part it in four parts.

Secure each section with a clip or hair band.  Leave out the section you plan to start with.

Take that section and apply about a quarter sized amount of the castor oil to the hair from tip to root.

Part your row and section hair off from that row for your first twist. Use the rat tail comb to detangle the twist section.

Then apply the shea butter from tip to root and then begin to twist.

As you get close to the end of your twist, take a small amount of gel and apply it to the end of the twist as you finish that section.  Then twirl the hair around your index finger to create a coil that locks your twist in place.  Add more gel as needed.

Repeat with every section and twist.

It is recommended that you keep the twists in for more than 24 hours.  Since you will be wearing these twists for at least 2 -3 days, twist your hair in to a style that you like.

Carefully unravel your twists after rubbing your hair down with a small amount of shea butter.  And Voila!

picstitch twistout 10-19-13

Try it out and let me know what you think.

Enjoy!

Leave a comment